Lightening Talk Experience

Last night I did my first ever lightening talk at Agile Yorkshire.

I really enjoyed the experience and hopefully something that I’ll do again. I was a little nervous, but nothing ventured nothing gained…

agile-yorkshire-lightning-talk-comp-white-ground

This was something which I’d wanted to do for some time but never really had the guts to do so.

Each speaker is given 10 minutes to talk about a topic of their choice

How I Went About Doing It

I worked out what point it was I wanted to make, i.e. my conclusions and then I worked  backwards. As I knew where I wanted to get to I just had to work out the route there. Things that would support my conclusions

Scribbles & Notes

I scribbled down all the points I wanted to make and put them into some sort of grouping.

  • Setting the scene / intro
  • Pros
  • Cons
  • Summary

Its a really basic mechanism stuff and a technique I think that every child doing GCSE English is taught.

Presentation Prep

Knowing that I had 10 minutes to do the talk I then broke down the slide deck into 5 parts – one for every 2 minutes.

I decided that I wouldn’t include any text on the slide and just have relevant slides that kind of illustrated the point I wanted to make. There are a load of licence free image websites out there which are full of images you can use:

and my personal favourite

Practice

I then practiced the talk, looking a my notes for each of the sections.

  • By recorded myself doing each section, I worked out what was important for me to stay.
  • Reviewed what I said and then tried again. (and again)
  • Timed myself on each section, ensuring that I didn’t go over the 2 minute time span,
  • Wrote down key points on record cards, highlighting things that I must say and want to stress
  • Ran through the whole presentation ( and then again)

 

If you’re going to do a talk – good luck to you and enjoy it

 

 

Leave a Reply

